Jesus is Enough

April 01, 2015
Don Carey

Jesus Is Enough

If you look at the Bible in a broad sense, it is really a collection of books centered on one person namely Jesus. The old testament looks forward to his arrival through prophecies, types and foreshadows. The Gospels record a portion of his life and three year ministry. The epistles point back to his glorious victory over death on the cross and teaches us how to live in light of that. And Revelation records the future reign of Jesus as the righteous judge. From beginning to end the Bible focuses on Christ. In my eyes it is an example for the believer. Since all things were made by him and for him, It goes without saying that all things can and should find its fulfillment in him also.

The “Jesus is enough” principle for believers is tantamount for us to obtain holiness. If we don’t find our contempt in Christ but in this world, then we will continually be tossed around searching for fulfillment in this world’s temporary pleasures and gratifications that only lasts for a moment. Furthermore the “Jesus is enough” principle is a mark of one’s true salvation. All who claim it know that apart from Christ we are nothing and can do nothing. He is our beginning and our end. The one who provides, sustains, guides, corrects and protects us.

I look to Revelation 2 & 3 as a method of applying this principal in my life. In each letter Jesus says “I know your works” signifying that he truly is omniscient and omnipresent. But more than that, since Christ walked this Earth we can be assured that he not only knows our works, but he also identifies with the struggles of ours works because he too was tempted even as we are tempted. Yet he overcame it flawlessly on our behalf. Further more Jesus is introduced seven different ways in these letters. Each title given to him shows a different characteristics of Christ and is ultimately what each church needs to overcome the struggles in which they are dealing with, as well as, their encouragement to continue in the faith.

There are many ways to view these letters; however, in my personal opinion I see them as seven recurring stages in life that mark the Christian walk.

  • Ephesus is the stage where I’m not on fire for God as I use to be.
  • Smyrna is the stage where I’m persecuted whether it be mentally, spiritually, or physically because of my faith.
  • Pergamum is the stage where I struggle with worldliness.
  • Thyatira is the stage where I struggle with false doctrine or legalism.
  • Sardis is the stage where I am spiritually dead even though the world doesn’t see it.
  • Philadelphia is the stage where I am on fire for God.
  • Laodicea is the stage where I am lukewarm not really living for God but not quite in the world also.

Although each of these letters as starkly different from one another and cover a vast array of life, the answer to each situation is still the same…Christ. Jesus is the common denominator who rightly is sufficient in all areas of life rather we are prospering or not, free or not, young or old, black or white, male or female, Jew or Gentile. Jesus is enough. Amen! Hallelujah! Praise the Lord!

1 Comment. Leave new

Wow, amen. I like the outlook of the various stages in a believers life. Especially the one on Sardis.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.